The Couture Council

Wes GordonThe Couture Council of The Museum at FIT honored Wes Gordon, creative director of Carolina Herrera, with its 2021 Couture Council Award for Artistry of Fashion on Wednesday, September 22 at Cipriani South Street in New York City. The luncheon benefited the recently reopened Museum at FIT (MFIT), New York’s only museum dedicated exclusively to the art of fashion, which was temporarily closed due to COVID-19.

Learn more 

View event photos here

Follow the conversation on Twitter and Instagram using #COUTURECOUNCIL


The Couture Council is a committed membership group that supports The Museum at FIT. The Couture Council helps make it possible for the museum to mount world-class exhibitions that educate and inspire, to build and conserve its extraordinary permanent collection, and to organize free public programs that serve FIT’s 10,000 students as well as the general public. 

The Couture Council, working in conjunction with the museum, organizes activities and events to raise the institution’s profile and provide financial support for the museum’s initiatives. The most important of these events is the Couture Council’s award ceremony and benefit luncheon. Designers who have received the Couture Council Award for Artistry of Fashion include Karl Lagerfeld, Valentino, Carolina Herrera, and the late Oscar de la Renta



Members of the Couture Council are invited to all of the museum’s opening receptions and other special member-only fashion events. 

The Couture Council is pleased to offer the following new membership levels:

  • Couture Membership - $1000
  • Fashion Icon Membership - $2500
  • Fashionista Membership - $350
  • Fashion Professional Membership - $350

Learn about the Couture Council's membership levels and benefits. 

Join or renew online via our secure website using your credit card.


Julie Macklowe

Vice Chair
Jeffery Fowler

Angela Dotson

Jane E. DeFlorio

Founding Members and Past Chairs

Peter G. Scotese, Emeritus Founding Chair

Liz Peek, Founding Member and Past Chair

Yaz Hernandez, Founding Member and Past Chair

Kamie Lightburn, Past Chair

Advisory Board Members

Ken Downing

Hal Rubenstein

Pamela Newkirk

Board Members

Deena Aljuhani Abdulaziz
Joele Frank
Audrey Gruss
Julia Haart
Marjorie R. Harris
Carole Divet Harting
Yaz Hernandez
Sharon Jacob
Eleanora Kennedy
Michelle Gerber Klein
Stephanie Loeffler
Melissa Mafrige-Mithoff

Lara Meiland-Shaw
Amelia Ogunlesi
Liz Peek
Kathy Prounis
Darcy Rigas
Lois Robbins
Kara Ross
Emilie Rubinfeld
Jean Shafiroff
Katherine Simon
Nicole Weiss

Dr. Valerie Steele, Director, The Museum at FIT


Couture Council Members

Mona Aboelnaga
Tom Ajamie
April Armstrong
Virginia N. Barbato
Jessica Barber
Yana Blackwelder
Ruby Bola
Amelia Brown
Anna Brusco
Janna Bullock
Robin Burns-McNeill
Will Ameringer
Kevin Byrne
Lindsay Caprioni
Christina Castle
Beth Charleston
Suzanne Chute
Angela Clofine
Francois Damide
Grazia D'Annunzio
Christina R. Davis
Mary E. Davis
Marisol Deluna
Gregory Dinoto
Karen Eckhoff
Pamela Egan
Arnault-Quentin Eggermont
Delia Folk
Ann Gallo
Barbara Georgescu
Claire Gilvar
Gillian Gorman Round
Melissa Gottesman
Jody H. Grass
Victoria Guranowski
Susan Gutfreund
Kimberly Haufrect
Terri Havens
Tania Higgins
Evelyn Blose Holman
Joan Hornig
Meghan Horstman
Vera Huang
Sharon Coplan Hurowitz
Ami Javeri
Erica Kasel
Rod Keenan
Gordon Kendall
Cindy and Steve Ketchum
Karen Klopp
Adnan Ege Kutay
Aryn LaPenta
Laura Layfer
Sara LeBlanc
Brenda Levin
Lauren Levison
Amelie Lonergan
Carolyn Mackenzie

Hilary Macklowe
Ann Mailly-Long
Lisa Malitz
Hannah Mannion
Jacqueline Martin
Stella Matzari
Samar Maziad
Avery McCann
Tara K. Milne
Danielle Morrin
Natalie Mouilso
Tracy Murphy
Meena Neti
Nancy Paduano
Katherine Palmiter
Barbara J. Parsky
Cristiane Peixoto
Sarah Sulzberger Perpich
Leetal Platt
Leticia Presutti
Kerri Quigley
Lauren Rantz
Harling Ross
Sabrina Sade
Sydney Sadick
Nicole Salmasi
Colleen Salonga
Pam B. Schafler
Sara Schwarz
Patricia Selden
Christina Senia
Shokoufeh Shadabi
Aneesa Sheikh
Susannah Shubin
Katherine Simon
Marie Smart
Christine Smith
Cally Stavropoulos
Ava Stefanelli
Randall Ian Stempler
Sheila Stephenson
Debbie Stevenson
Kristen Stewart
Emilio Terasaki
Nora Tezanos
Rebecca Vanyo
April Vinder
Patti Wagner
Madeline Weinrib
Graham Wetzbarger
Darin White-Eydenberg
Nina Whitman
Sarah Wolfe
Tiffany Wong
Lynn Wright
Yliana Yepez
Frank Zambrelli

Highlights from Previous Special Events

Invitation to the annual Couture Council Artistry of Fashion benefit luncheon. Past awardees: Ralph Rucci (2006), Alber Elbaz of Lanvin (2007), Isabel Toledo (2008), Dries Van Noten (2009), Karl Lagerfeld (2010), Valentino (2011), Oscar de la Renta (2012), Michael Kors (2013), Carolina Herrera (2014), Manolo Blahnik (2015),  Albert Kriemler (2016), Thom Browne (2017), Narciso Rodriguez (2018), and Christian Louboutin (2019).

Private tours of exhibitions at The Museum at FIT.

Private visits to the ateliers of fashion designers such as Isabel Toledo and her husband, fashion illustrator Ruben Toledo, Ralph Rucci, Zac Posen, Angel Sanchez, Chadwick Bell, Prabal Gurung, J. Mendel, Francisco Costa of Calvin Klein, Reem Acra, Bibhu Mohapatra, Lafayette 148 and NYC Ballet Costume Shop.

Store events with Calvin Klein, Verdura, Tiffany, Reed Krakoff, the FD Gallery, and Mish New York.

Lectures with Michael Kors, Zac Posen and Ruben and Isabel Toledo at the Doubles Club.

Cocktails and Conversation with Peter Copping of Oscar de la Renta at the Core Club.

Cocktails and Conversation with designers Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez of Proenza Schouler and Dr. Valerie Steele, Director, The Museum at FIT at the Proenza Schouler Boutique.

Tea and Conversation with renowned hat designer Patricia Underwood.

NYC Ballet Costume Shop Tour.

Cocktails and Couture with Bibhu Mohapatra at the Core Club.

Cartier Mansion Tour.

Cocktails and Conversation with Jason Wu.

Great Designers event featuring fashions by Lee Alexander McQueen.

Introduction to Fashion History featuring The Little Black Dress.

2019 Couture Council Winter Luncheon with Roopal Patel, SVP Fashion Director, Saks Fifth Avenue.

Great Designers event featuring fashions by Azzedine Alaïa with supermodel Veronica Webb.