skip to con tent

In this section

FIT Fashion Design Students Competing in ELLE's Fashion Next Design Awards Program


ELLE Magazine's Fashion Next Design ContestELLE Magazine partnered with the Fashion Institute of Technology for their third-annual Fashion Next Design Award program sponsored by Maybelline New York.

Nineteen FIT fashion design students were chosen to design two to three garments drawing inspiration from New York City. Their designs were showcased in a live runway show during Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week in New York City on September 7 from Lincoln Center.

Tae Kyung Kim was awarded the 2012 ELLE FASHION | NEXT Design Award of $25,000. Jongsuk Park received the Maybelline New York Design Visionary Award. Guest judges included fashion industry leaders Alexis Bittar, Catherine Malandrino, Wes Gordon, Cristina Ricci, and Brad Goreski, as well as ELLE creative director Joe Zee and ELLE fashion news director Anne Slowey.

In addition, Yvonne Luong won the $10,000 Peoples Choice Award, which ran on ELLE.com.

The competition was featured in the October issue of ELLE and on ELLE.com. The December issue and website will carry features on the winners.