skip to con tent

In this section

The Future of Fashion is Revealed at FIT

Cheri Fein, executive director of Public and Media Relations
212 217.4700 or [email protected]

Tomorrows Top Designers Display Their Talent on the Runway

The Future of Fashion was revealed Wednesday evening when the Fashion Institute of Technology's top graduating design students showcased 72 fashion-forward garments at FIT's annual end-of-year runway show. This professionally produced event presented sportswear, special occasion, knitwear, intimate apparel, and children's wear designed for fall 2012 to packed audiences of established designers, industry executives, and proud families at two showings 4:30 pm and 7:30 pm at FIT. FIT's annual fashion show is supported by a $2 million gift from alumnus Calvin Klein, and the company he founded, Calvin Klein, Inc. A VIP reception was held between the two shows.

Among those viewing the designs of some of the worlds most talented young designers were Calvin Klein, Tom Murry, president & CEO, Calvin Klein, Inc., designers Amsale Aberra, Dennis Basso, Josie Natori, Nanette Lepore, Rebecca Minkoff, and John Bartlett, plus Joe Zee, Alexandra Lebenthal, and singer Shontelle.

Each year, noted designers act as mentors and critics to the students. These designers visit classrooms throughout the spring semester to critique the students work and, ultimately, to select the most exceptional garment from each area of specialization for a special award. This years critics were Victor Alfaro, Amsale Aberra, Gaby Basora (Tucker), Wenlan Chia (Twinkle), Dushane Noble (Helmut Lang), Josie Natori, Alicia Raimondo (Betsey Johnson for Carole Hochman), Wendi Reed (Anthropologie), Michelle Smith, and Diane von Furstenberg.

The young designers also vied for cash awards from Cotton Incorporated, a show sponsor. Students who displayed the best use of cotton in their garments competed for prizes of $10,000 for first place, $5,000 for second place, and $3,000 for third place.

Winners of the critic and Cotton Incorporated awards are listed at the end of this release, with the link for photos.

Inclusion in The Future of Fashion runway show is selective, with garments chosen by a panel of judges that this year included Laura Brown (Harpers Bazaar), Kate Betts (Time, Inc.), Alana Kelen (VH1), Lilliana Vazquez (NBC), and Joe Zee (Elle).

Hair for the show was designed by John Barrett. Gordon Espinet, senior vice president of global artist training, development, and makeup artistry at MAC, acted as key makeup artist. Makeup artist Janice Kinjo returned for her second year, along with a team of MAC make-up artists using MAC products. Jenni Lee, who has worked with Scarlett Johansson, Ben Affleck, Mos Def, Death Cab for Cutie, and Paramore, joined the team as stylist.

The Fashion Institute of Technology, a college of the State University of New York, has been a leader in career education in art, design, business, and technology for nearly 70 years. Providing students with a singular blend of hands-on, practical experience, classroom study, and a firm grounding in the liberal arts, FIT offers a wide range of outstanding programs that are affordable and relevant to today's rapidly changing industries. FIT draws on its New York City location to provide a vibrant, creative community in which to learn. The college offers more than 45 majors and grants AAS, BFA, BS, MA, MFA, and MPS degrees, preparing students for professional success and leadership in the global marketplace. FIT fashion design alumni include Calvin Klein, Francisco Costa, Ralph Rucci, Stephen Burrows, Amsale Aberra, John Bartlett, Norma Kamali, and Nanette Lepore.

The Future of Fashion
Award Winners

Critic Award Winners

  • Children's Wear:
    Tara Ricci - Michelle Smith, Critic
  • Intimate Apparel:
    Lorna Laurentino - Alicia Raimondo, Critic
  • Knitwear:
    Shannon Green - Dushane Noble, Critic
    Rosa Ng - Wenlan Chia, Critic
  • Special Occasion:
    Mimi Prober - Amsale Aberra, Critic
    Andrea Lucchese - Victor Alfaro, Critic
  • Sportswear:
    Anya Shakhmeyster - Gaby Basora, Critic
    Yen Hua Wendy Chen - Josie Natori, Critic
    Mallory Williams - Diane von Furstenberg, Critic
    Joshua Myrie - Wendi Reed, Critic

Best Use of Cotton Award Winners

  • Maira Houck, Sportswear - First Place, $10,000
  • Lorna Laurentino, Intimate Apparel - Second Place, $5,000
  • Martha Kelley, Knitwear - Third Place, $2,500