skip to con tent

In this section

Two Students Win Scholarships in CFDA/Gilt Groupe All-Star Program

Cheri Fein, executive director, Public and Media Relations
[email protected], 212 217.4700

Kieran Dallison and Lauren Sehner Also Won CFDA Scholarships in June

Two students from the Fashion Institute of Technology (FIT) majoring in Fashion Design have been selected as winners in the highly competitive All-Star Scholarship Program of the Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) and Gilt Groupe. Kieran Dallison was chosen by a unanimous vote as winner of the top award: Gilt Groupe All-Star. He receives a $10,000 scholarship. Lauren Sehner has been awarded a $2,500 scholarship as one of four finalists. The funds will be used toward tuition and educational expenses for the spring 2012 semester.

Dallison's winning collection will be manufactured locally and sold exclusively on Gilt.com.

The Gilt Groupe/CFDA All-Star Scholarship Program was open only to the top five 2011 CFDA Award recipients. Competing against students from 12 of the nations leading design colleges and universities, both Sehner and Dallison were among the top 2011 CFDA scholarship winners. Sehner received the Geoffrey Beene Design Scholar Award of $25,000. Dallison was the recipient of a $10,000 scholarship. Overall, FIT students won five which is one-third of the fifteen awards.

Based on specific guidelines developed by Gilt Groupe and the CFDA, the five eligible students were asked to submit sketches for 15 looks.

The All-Star Scholarship Program Selection Committee included CFDA members Stacey Bendet of Alice & Olivia and Prabal Gurung; Glenda Bailey, editor in chief of Harpers Bazaar; Jyothi Rao, general manager, women's, Gilt Groupe; and Lisa Smilor, deputy director of programs and operations for the CFDA.

About the CFDA

The Council of Fashion Designers of America, Inc. (CFDA) is a not-for-profit trade association that leads industry-wide initiatives and whose membership consists of more than 370 of America's foremost women's wear, menswear, jewelry, and accessory designers. In addition to hosting the annual CFDA Fashion Awards, which recognize the top creative talent in the industry, the organization offers programs which support professional development and scholarships, including the CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund, the Geoffrey Beene Design Scholarship Award, the Liz Claiborne Scholarship Award, and the CFDA/Teen Vogue Scholarship. Member support is provided through the Business Services Network, a high-profile group of companies offering designers strategic opportunities. Visit www.cfda.com.

About FIT

FIT's Fashion Design program was established in 1944, the year the college was founded. The associate degree program gives students an essential foundation for creating apparel from sketch to finished garment. In the baccalaureate program, students receive advanced instruction in specialized areas, including sportswear, knitwear, children's wear, intimate apparel, and special occasion. Fourth-year students work alongside acclaimed industry critics who serve as judges for a year-end, professionally produced fashion show, The Future of Fashion. FIT alumni include Reem Acra, Amsale Aberra, Brian Atwood, Jhane Barnes, John Bartlett, Dennis Basso, Stephen Burrows, Francisco Costa, Andrew Fezza, Norma Kamali, Calvin Klein, Nanette Lepore, Miranda Morrison, Rebecca Moses, Ralph Rucci, Austin Scarlett, Kari Sigerson, and Daniel Vosovic.

FIT is a leader in career education in art, design, business, and technology, with a wide range of programs that are affordable and relevant to today's rapidly changing industries. Part of the State University of New York, the college offers more than 45 majors leading to the AAS, BFA, BS, MA, MFA, and MPS degrees.