skip to con tent

In this section

5th Annual Sustainability Business and Design Conference: The Liquid Planet

The 5th Annual Sustainable Business and Design Conference "The Liquid Planet" will feature environmentalists and educators addressing a variety of issues pertaining to the sustainable use of aquatic systems and resources, from local rivers and bays to oceans, from pollution to sustainable fisheries. 

FIT President Dr. Joyce F. Brown will open the conference with an update on FIT's sustainability initiatives, followed by a keynote panel discussion on regional water issues.  Participants include moderator Arthur Kopelman, FIT distinguished professor, Science and Mathematics; Adrienne Esposito, executive director, Citizens Campaign for the Environment; Kevin McAllister, Peconic Baykeeper; and Jeff Rumpf, executive director, Hudson River Sloop Clearwater. The morning session will close with a presentation by Anne Doubilet, board director and chair, lectures and programs, The Explorers Club.

Afternoon speakers will include Mark Dorfman, green chemist and water expert from the Biomimicry Guild, Michael L. Marrella, project director of the comprehensive waterfront plan, NYC Department of City Planning; Joshua Onysko, founder and CEO of Pangea Organics; and Dr. Martin P. Schreibman, professor, Brooklyn College, and founder, Aquatic Research and Environmental Assessment Center (AREAC).

Break-out participants include Eric Feinblatt, Waste for Life; David Hopkins, environmental coordinator, Patagonia Upper West Side; and FIT faculty members Michael Cokkinos, Sean Cormier, George Ganiaris, Georgia Kalivas, Arthur Kopelman, and Jeffrey Silberman. FIT faculty member Grazyna Pilatowicz will conduct tours of FIT's green roof. Student projects focusing on sustainability will be exhibited at the conference.

Each year, the Sustainable Business and Design Conference aims to inform, involve and inspire the entire FIT community to incorporate sustainability into all aspects of what we do.

The conference is free and open to the public, and is sponsored by the Office of the President and the Student Faculty Corporation. Learn more and register now.