/10633.asp /4718.asp /4717.asp /4716.asp /4715.asp /4714.asp /4713.asp /4109.asp /4110.asp /4111.asp /4112.asp /4113.asp /4114.asp /4115.asp /4116.asp /4117.asp /10633.asp /4718.asp /4717.asp /4716.asp /4715.asp /4714.asp /4713.asp /4109.asp /4110.asp /4111.asp /4112.asp /4113.asp /4114.asp /4115.asp /4116.asp /4117.asp
In this section

The Couture Council

The Couture Council of The Museum at FIT honored Manolo Blahnik with their 2015 Couture Council Award for Artistry of Fashion on Wednesday September 9, 2015 at a benefit luncheon at David H. Koch Theater at Lincoln Center, New York City. Learn more



The Couture Council is a membership group dedicated to supporting The Museum at FIT, a specialized museum of fashion.  The Couture Council helps make it possible for the Museum to mount world-class exhibitions of fashion, to acquire important objects for its permanent collection, and to organize public programs, such as the annual fashion symposium.  The Couture Council accomplishes these goals through collecting membership dues and by organizing fundraising events such as the annual Couture Council Awards Luncheon, which presents a chosen designer with the Couture Council Award for Artistry of Fashion.
Manolo Blahnik. Photo by: Michael Roberts
See photos of Couture Council events on Flickr.

Join the Couture Council:

You can join or renew online via our secure website using your credit card,
or if you prefer to pay by check you may download a membership form

A Couture Council Annual Membership is $1,000 per individual or couple, or $350 for Young Associates (under the age of 35). Membership is tax deductible to the extent provided by law. Please make checks payable to the Educational Foundation for the Fashion Industries. Mail checks to FIT Foundation, attention: Couture Council, Seventh Avenue at 27th Street, Director's Office, Room E304, New York City 10001-5992.


Members of the Couture Council receive invitations to at least five special events a year, including behind-the-scenes tours of the Museum's collection and exhibitions, opening receptions, and visits to the ateliers of fashion designers in New York. Couture Council members are also the first to receive notice of the annual Couture Council Awards Ceremony and benefit luncheon.

In addition, you will receive the following special membership benefits:
  • Complementary admittance for two to all paid Museum educational programs, including the annual fashion symposium
  • Acknowledgments in FIT's annual report, in the exhibition galleries and brochures, and on the FIT website
  • Exclusive opportunities to meet other patrons of the fashion arts

Board of Directors

Yaz Hernández
Kamie Lightburn
Carole Divet Harting
Joele Frank

Board Members
 Angela Dotson-Giardini
 Anne Goldrach
 Rebecca Grafstein
 Audrey Gruss
 Celia Hegyi
 Sharon Jacob
 Eleanora Kennedy
 Lisa Klein
 Michèle Gerber Klein
 Stephanie Loeffler
 Julie Macklowe
 Barbara Malone
 Elizabeth Musmanno
 Amelia Ogunlesi
 Liz Peek
 Darcy Rigas
 Lois Robbins
 Peter G. Scotese
 Jean Shafiroff
 Michelle Smith
 Lacey Tisch

Valerie Steele, Director MFIT

Members of the Couture Council 2014-2015

Mona Aboelnaga
Alexandra Adame
Noreen Ahmad
Farhana Ahmed
Jennifer Argenti
Fabiola Arias
Elizabeth M. Armstrong
Anne Baker
Virginia N. Barbato
Catherine Bennett
Elizabeth Berman
Jill Bikoff
Laurie Bodor
Berdie Brady
Noreen Buckfire
Linda Buckley
Robin Burns-McNeill
Alyson Cafiero
Karen Cannell
Danielle Augusta Cannon
Lindsay Caprioni
Liza-Mae Carlin
Edward Carlton Clark-Ayers
Maroulla Carr
Deborah Chatman
Suzanne and Robert Chute
Maggie Ciafardini
Yola Colon
Allison Corbat
Donna & Mike Corbat
Suzi K. Cordish
Kendra & Allan Daniel
Graciela Dauhajre
Christina R. Davis
Ria Davis
Marisol Deluna
Nicole Dicocco
Mary Elizabeth Dooner
Alexis Doyle
Jaime Duncan
Nicole Eades
Karen Eckhoff
Allison Ecung
Jacqueline Elkort
Bonnie Pfeifer Evans
Patricia Falkenberg
Chele Farley
Alease Fisher
Stephanie Foster
Lori & Eric Friedman
Barbara Georgescu
Noinin Gilbert
Judith S. Giuliani
Lynn and Carl Goldstein
Michelle Lin Greenip
Victoria Guranowski
Susan Gutfreund
Myrna Haft
Nophar Haimovitz
Douglas Hand
Kim Heirston
Sylvia R. Hemingway
Kate V. Hemphill
Kim Heyman
Lisa Hoenshell
Dr. Evelyn Blose Holman
Sharon Coplan Hurowitz
Sharon Jacob
John Jones
Gemma Kahng
Kimberly Kassel
Mariana Kaufman
Suzanne Kayne
Rod Keenan
Gordon Kendall
Leonard King III
Karen Klopp
Tiffany Koury-Dichter
Catherine Kowalski
Katherine Kung
Ka Lam
Taryn Lane
Laura Layfer
Lisa Layfer
Alexandra Lebenthal
Jill Letts
Nicole Leonard
Brenda Levin
Judy A. Lockhart
Laura Lofaro Freeman
Karen Lynch
Christine Mace
Carol Mack
Chris Madden
Lisa Malitz
Federica Marchionni
Joy Marks
Livia E. Marotta
Dottie Mattison
Rita Mehos
B. Michael
Charles Miers
Gillian Miniter
Alison Minton
Charlotte Moss
Vanessa Molina
Kamilla Murtazina
Maggie Norris
Barbara J. Parsky
Jean Pearson
Christa G. Percopo
Susan Pernick
Lisa Perry
Yesim Philip
John Pomerantz
Rosemary Ponzo
Ariana Pugh
Marjorie Reed Gordon
Barbara Regna
Jordan Rhodes
Valerie Salembier
Pam Schafler
Nancy Shaw
Rhonda Sheakley
Carron Sherry
Louise Siu
Catherine Smith
Christine Smith
Kristin A. Smith
Joan S. Steinberg
Jessica Stempel
Randall Ian Stempler
Martha Stewart
Sabrina Stewart
Rebecca Suhrawardi
Kelly Sullivan
Sarah Sulzberger Perpich
Amanda Taylor
Shrutih Tewarie
Nora Tezanos
Barbara Tober
Patricia Underwood
Nancy Vignola
Adrienne Vittadini
Jessica Wade
Jieun Wax
Deborah Weinswig
Jacqueline Weld
Ron West
Gudrun Willcocks
Stephanie Winston Wolkoff
Debi Wisch
Sarah Wolfe
Terry Wood-Lavine
Pamala Wright
Yliana Yepez
Beverly Yunich
Alice Zicht
Highlights from Previous Special Events
  • Invitation to the annual Couture Council Artistry of Fashion benefit luncheon. Past awardees: Ralph Rucci (2006), Alber Elbaz of Lanvin (2007), Isabel Toledo (2008), Dries Van Noten (2009), Karl Lagerfeld (2010), Valentino (2011), Oscar de la Renta (2012), Michael Kors (2013), and Carolina Herrera (2014)
  • Private visits to the ateliers of fashion designers such as Isabel Toledo and her husband, fashion illustrator Ruben Toledo, Ralph Rucci, Zac Posen, Angel Sanchez, Chadwick Bell, Prabal Gurung, J. Mendel, Francisco Costa of Calvin Klein, and Reem Acra.
  • Store events with Calvin Klein, Verdura, Tiffany, Reed Krakoff, and the FD Gallery.
  • Lectures with Michael Kors, Zac Posen at the Doubles Club, and Ruben and Isabel Toledo at the Doubles Club.
Join Our Mailing List Copy of Calendar of EventsMuseum HomeCalendar of EventsSupport MFITIn the NewsCollectionsExhibitionsPlan Your VisitAbout the Museum